Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards 2023 Nominee

We are delighted to announce that But I Live: Three Stories of Child Survivors of the Holocaust has been shortlisted for the Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards in the Best Reality-Based Work category for 2023.

It is an honour to be nominated for this prestigious award, and recognized amongst the other 19 Canadian nominees featured by CBC News in ‘Kate Beaton, Margaret Atwood and Chip Zdarsky among Canadian finalists for 2023 Eisner Awards : https://www.cbc.ca/books/kate-beaton-margaret-atwood-and-chip-zdarsky-among-canadian-finalists-for-2023-eisner-awards-1.6853145 

The Eisner Awards will be announced on the evening of July 21, 2023, at a gala awards ceremony held at the San Diego Hilton Bayfront Hotel during Comic-Con.

About the Eisner Awards

Named for acclaimed comics creator Will Eisner, the Eisner Awards highlight the best publications and creators in comics and graphic novels published between January 1 and December 31 each year. It is often referred to as the comics industry’s equivalent to the Academy Awards.

The nominations in each category are generated by a jury of five to six members and then voted on by comic book professionals. The jury represents aspects of the comics industry, including creators, retailers, librarians, academic/historians, journalists, and fans. 

Comic-Con hosts the presentation of the awards, as outlined on their website: 

The Eisner Awards are presented with the support of the San Diego Comic Convention, a California Nonprofit Public Benefit Corporation organized for charitable purposes and dedicated to creating the general public’s awareness of and appreciation for comics and related popular art forms, including nonprofit educational organizations dedicated to creating awareness of and appreciation for comics and related popular art forms, primarily through the presentation of conventions and events that celebrate the historic and ongoing contributions of comics to art and culture.

More information about the Eisner Awards and nominees: